主題: YOUNG WOMEN FICTION (詞句)
訂閱 主題: YOUNG WOMEN FICTION (詞句)RSS訂閱 主題: YOUNG WOMEN FICTION (詞句)RSS您的檢索結果 75 筆紀錄. 紀錄顯示 110.
12345678最後

  • 1.  封面The hundredth queen / Emily R. King.
    館藏 (1)
    287 p. ; 21 cm.
    New York : Skyscape, c2017.
    摘要:"As an orphan ward of the Sisterhood in the ancient Tarachand Empire, eighteen-year-old Kalinda is destined for nothing more than a life of seclusion and prayer. Plagued by fevers, she's an unlikely candidate for even a servant's position, let alone a courtesan or wife. Her sole dream is to continue living in peace in the Sisterhood's mountain temple. But a visit from the tyrant Rajah Tarek disrupts Kalinda's life. Within hours, she is ripped from the comfort of her home, set on a desert trek, and ordered to fight for her place among the rajah's ninety-nine wives and numerous courtesans. Her only solace comes in the company of her guard, the stoic but kind Captain Deven Naik. Faced with the danger of a tournament to the death--and her growing affection for Deven--Kalinda has only one hope for escape, and it lies in an arcane, forbidden power buried within her."--Provided by Amazon.com.
    The hundredth queen ; 1.
    Imaginary places -- Juvenile fiction
    King, Emily R.
    ISBN:9781503943650
    ISBN:1503943658
    813.6
  • 2.  封面The bear and the nightingale : a novel / Katherine Arden.
    館藏 (1)
    322 p. ; 25 cm.
    New York : Del Rey, c2017.
    摘要:"A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern'sThe Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows. And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or confinement in a convent. As danger circles nearer, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales. Advance praise for The Bear and the Nightingale "An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale. A Russian setting adds unfamiliar spice to the story of a young woman who does not rebel against the limits of her role in her culture so much as transcend them. The Bear and the Nightingale is a wonderfully layered novel of family and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic."--Robin Hobb, bestselling author of the Fitz and the Fool trilogy "A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted"-- Provided by publisher.
    Winternight trilogy ; 1.
    Good and evil -- Fiction
    Arden, Katherine
    ISBN:9781101885932
    ISBN:1101885939
    ISBN:9780399593284
    813.6
  • 3.  封面Ink and bone / Lisa Unger.
    館藏 (1)
    First Touchstone hardcover edition.
    342 pages ; 24 cm.
    New York : Touchstone, 2016.
    Young women -- Fiction
    Unger, Lisa, 1970-
    ISBN:9781501101649
    813.6
  • 4.  封面Northanger Abbey / Val McDermid.
    館藏 (1)
    343 pages ; 24 cm.
    New York : Grove Press, 2014.
    Children of clergy -- Fiction
    ISBN:9780802123015
    823.914
  • 5.  封面The waking land / Callie Bates.
    館藏 (1) 已借 (1)
    First edition.
    388 pages : map ; 25 cm.
    New York : Del Rey, c2017.
    Fathers and daughters -- Fiction
    Bates, Callie
    ISBN:9780425284025
    813.6
  • 6.  封面Sweetbitter / Stephanie Danler.
    館藏 (1) 已借 (1)
    First edition.
    356 p. ; 22 cm.
    New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.
    摘要:"A lush, thrilling debut--a publishing event already the subject of an article in The New York Times--about a year in the life of a uniquely beguiling young woman, set in the wild, alluring world of a famous downtown New York restaurant. "Let's say I was born when I came over the George Washington Bridge..." This is how we meet unforgettable Tess, the 22-year-old at the heart of this stunning debut. Shot like a bullet from a mundane past, she's come to New York to escape the provincial, to take on her destiny. After she stumbles into a coveted job at a renowned Union Square restaurant, we spend the year with her as she learns the chaotic, punishing, privileged life of a "backwaiter," on and off duty. Her appetites are awakened, for food, wine, knowledge and experience; and she's pulled into the thrall of two other servers--a handsome bartender she falls hard for, and an older woman whose connection to both young lovers is murky, sensual, and overpowering. These two will prove to be Tess's hardest lesson of all. Sweetbitter is a story about discovery, enchantment, and the power of what remains after disillusionment"-- Provided by publisher.
    Young women -- Fiction
    Danler, Stephanie
    ISBN:9781101875940
    813.6
  • 7.  封面Pond / Claire-Louise Bennett.
    館藏 (1)
    First American edition.
    195 p. ; 21 cm.
    New York : Riverhead Books, 2016, c2015.
    摘要:"Longlisted for the 2016 International Dylan Thomas Prize "What Bennett aims at is nothing short of a re-enchantment of the world... This is a truly stunning debut, beautifully written and profoundly witty." -The Guardian Immediately upon its publication in Ireland, Claire-Louise Bennett's debut began to attract attention well beyond the expectations of the tiny Irish press that published it. A deceptively slender volume, it captures with utterly mesmerizing virtuosity the interior reality of its unnamed protagonist, a young woman living a singular and mostly solitary existence on the outskirts of a small coastal village. Sidestepping the usual conventions of narrative, it focuses on the details of her daily experience--from the best way to eat porridge or bananas to an encounter with cows--rendered sometimes in story-length, story-like stretches of narrative, sometimes in fragments no longer than a page, but always suffused with the hypersaturated, almost synesthetic intensity of the physical world that we remember from childhood. The effect is of character refracted and ventriloquized by environment, catching as it bounces her longings, frustrations, and disappointments--the ending of an affair, or the ambivalent beginning with a new lover. As the narrator's persona emerges in all its eccentricity, sometimes painfully and often hilariously, we cannot help but see mirrored there our own fraught desires and limitations, and our own fugitive desire, despite everything, to be known. Shimmering and unusual, Pond demands to be devoured in a single sitting that will linger long after the last page"-- Provided by publisher.
    Young women -- Fiction
    ISBN:9780399575891
    823.92
  • 8.  封面Paris for one and other stories / Jojo Moyes.
    館藏 (1) 已借 (1) 薦購 (3)
    274 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
    New York : Pamela Dorman Books/Viking, 2016.
    Young women -- Fiction
    Moyes, Jojo, 1969-
    ISBN:9780735221079
    823.92
  • 9.  封面Can you keep a secret? / Sophie Kinsella.
    館藏 (1)
    374 p. ; 18 cm.
    New York, New York : Bantam Dial, c2004.
    Businesswomen -- Fiction
    Kinsella, Sophie
    ISBN:9780440241904
    823.921
    823.921
  • 10.  封面Remember me? / Sophie Kinsella.
    館藏 (1)
    430 p. ; 18 cm.
    New York, New York : Dial Press, c2008.
    Accident victims -- Fiction
    Kinsella, Sophie
    ISBN:9780440242406
    823.914
    823.914
12345678最後